[2019 election] Agbakoba, Olawepo-Hashim, others team up to wrest power from Buhari

Written by on October 8, 2018

Prominent political parties under the third force movement namely Peoples Trust, African Democratic Congress and Alliance for New Nigeria have formed a strategic pact to wrest power from President Muhammadu Buhari.

Under the new arrangement, the political parties involved have adopted the Alliance for Peoples Trust as their new name.

The decision was reached at a national convention organised by the group in Lagos on Saturday.

Kura also said Lady Funke Awolowo stepped down for presidential hopeful, Olawepo–Hashim.

Also at the event, a legal luminary and pro-democracy activist, Dr Olisa Agbakoba (SAN), was elected as the National Chairman and an energy expert/political strategist, Dr Gbenga Olawepo-Hashim as a presidential candidate.

In his acceptance speech, Olawepo-Hashim described himself as a detribalised Nigerian and was prepared to lead the new ballot driven– Permanent Voter Cards revolution of the third force movement in order to build a new democratic Nigeria come 2019.

The highpoints of the national convention and Presidential primaries were the elections of substantive national executives of APT to be chaired by Agbakoba, change of name of the People’s Trust, PT, as the umbrella political party of the third force to Alliance for People’s Trust.

The party’s logo was changed from a “pyramid” to “a hand of victory sign in green, white and yellow flag.” APT flag was handed over to Olawepo-Hashim to represent the third force in the 2019 elections

The national convention was attended by leaders of other allied political parties and movement. They include Dr Jay Samuels, founding Chairman of ANN; Mallam Nasser Kura, National Secretary of APT; Comrade Isa Tijani, Deputy National Chairman of ANN; Lady Funke Awolowo, who was later elected the Treasurer of APT, and Olawale Okunniyi, the Director General of Nigeria Intervention Movement.

Others include Chief Mrs Olivia Agbajoh, a second republic federal legislator and senatorial candidate of APT in Delta State and Musibahu Jarfaru from Kano among others.

Noble 107.1 FM Ibadan

Voice for voiceless

Current track

%d bloggers like this: